Editorial Project – Fright Night

My final illustration and GIF for Fright Night an article by Graham Lawton from a New Science magazine.

haunted-dolls-house.gif

This illustration is for an article titled Fright Night by Graham Lawton from a New Science magazine. The article talked about how people like frightening themselves and why this is the case. I tried to illustrate this by creating a quirky haunted dolls house. I thought that this worked well with the article as it portrays the fun involved with being scared by a book or film and it works well to draw the reader in. I decided to explore materials again in this project by using a mixture of watercolour, collage and gouache paint to create this image. I think the collage really helps to give the image life and a sense of fun which is what I wanted to include in my work.

Leave a Reply

