Children’s Book Brief Summary

A summary of what I have learnt during the project Children’s Book Brief.

The main part of this project has been understanding the research and development that goes into producing a children’s book. Another major part of this project was the ability to meet deadlines as this is an important feature when working professionally.

I started this project by looking at different children’s books as well as illustrated books for older audiences. This really helped me throughout my practice as it informed my work and inspired it. I found Anastasia Izlesou especially inspiring as her work influenced me to try a different technique with watercolours that i had no experience with. Experimenting with this technique was a major part of my project as I continued to do this throughout, even making changes to my final pages to try and develop the techniques further. I enjoyed this experimentation as it allowed me to improve on my work and develop my use of colour as well as my use of line. The children’s book The White Hare, illustrated by Anastasia Izlesou also influenced the colour palette of my work as I wanted to use my new knowledge from previous workshops in order to improve the way that I use colour within my work.

This project also allowed me to discover what it was like to work professionally. This allowed me to become familiar with stages of making a book such as creating a flat page plan, a dummy book and developing a few colour pages. I was also able to learn how to use InDesign to put my finished double page spreads together as well as my cover. I also learned how to add bleed lines to these spreads.

This project allowed me to develop and use the skills that I had learnt previously in the year such as how colour can have a big impact on images and the way people see them, how composition is especially important when conveying strong emotions in pieces and how words can also have a massive impact on images through what they say and how they are presented.

Leave a Reply

