Animation, Propaganda and Satire – Making the Set and Models.

Describing the process of assembling the set and model of the fake news machine.

IMAG0005
Stop-motion set up

Once I knew the size of the space I would we working in I was able to start constructing the set. I had decided on the machine being set in an old, dingy and dark warehouse. In order to make this I used cardboard to create the back wall and sides of the warehouse. I then decided to paint the card so that it looked different to the machine as that would also be made out of card. I smeared different coloured acrylic paints onto the card using thinner pieces of card. This allowed the texture of the card to remain. I used blacks, greys, yellows and reds to add colour to the card. The idea was to make the walls look like old rusty worn out metal. I didn’t want to cover the card completely in paint as I wanted to keep the texture of it.

To make the machine I used cardboard for the main body. For the metal pipes I used thick straws and spray painted them silver to make them look like metal. For the internet box I used card that I spraypainted. I decided to do this as I needed it to look different to the rest of the machine and I wanted it to look more futuristic but still worn down so I smeared a darker grey colour on top of the spray paint to make it look dirty.

Fake_002_01_X1_0006
Experimenting with lighting and camera angle.

Once I had everything set up I started experimenting with lighting. In the end I used a dim, yellowish lamp to light the whole scene and I also used spotlights to highlight the machine and to make it stand out from the dark background. I then experimented with the camera angle, I decided on a low angle looking up at the machine in order to make it look much larger and ominous.

Fake_004_01_X1_0001
Other Props

To film the parts of the animation that take place inside the machine I decided to film them on a flat surface with the camera above them. This would be easier than trying to make all of the models able to stand up. For the background I repurposed a piece of the warehouse walls. I then made the other models using coloured paper and card.

 

The colour pallette for this animation is quite dark and moody. I wanted it to look this way because the dark colours reflect the dark and dingy atmosphere of the warehouse. These colours also help to make the machine and its surroundings look old and worn down which helps to imply that the machine has been working and making fake news for a long time.

Leave a Reply

