Characters and Place Research

Some of the research that I have done in order to inspire my work for the characters and place brief about a soldier from the Spanish Civil War.

7d24ce9aa11743787d8deb62823f98e0For this group project I am looking at Spanish Civil War propaganda. I will be making postcards that need to look like hey are from this era. To do this I will take inspiration from the colours used on propaganda posters and the type of text they use. This will not only help me to make my work look like the posters but it will also help my work fit with the work from the rest of the group as they will be taking inspiration from these posters as well. The majority of the propaganda posters contained bold yellows and red colours. The colours and figures are blocky and substantial. This style would work well with screen printing.

I also looked at old postcards from the same time to help me come up with my own designs.

I like this style of postcard because of the simple, clear cut shapes looks similar to the bold style of the propaganda posters. The limited colours also fit well with the limited colours used in the posters. This style would also be easy to screen print because of how simple it is.

 

 

Leave a Reply

