Metamorphosis : Shadow Puppets

Initial ideas and work for a shadow puppet show based on the book Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka.

Our latest project is based on the book Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. For this project we are looking at shadow theatres and puppets and exploring how they can be used to tell stories.

I started by exploring the scenery in the book, especially the city. I made some quick pop up pieces that were ideas for how the scenery could be represented in the theatre we will be making for the play.

I then started making some of the characters from the book. I tried not to draw them out in pencil first, instead I just started cutting out forms with the scalpel. I then used butterfly pins to attach the various pieces of the characters together.

I experimented with different designs for the main character Gregor. He is described as similar to a bug in the book so I chose to represent him this way. I also decided to show him as a bug with a human face as I think this is a good way to show that Gregor was originally a human, and it also makes it easier to empathise with him. One of the versions of Gregor shows him towards the end of the book, when he has become unwell and frail with an apple lodged in his back.

 

Leave a Reply

